A teacher leader?

I don’t consider myself a leader.  I believe I could be an OK leader, but I don’t want the leadership mantle.  I do not crave the spotlight.  I’ve always thought I’d rather be an adviser to the President than be the President.  But leaders don’t have to be in the spotlight.  Leaders can lead by example and through individual conversations.

If I am going to try to be a teacher-leader at my school, this is how it will have to be.  The culture with regards to technology needs to change at our school.  We need to become a school that embraces technology.  I can help by changing the conversations.  I can talk with enthusiasm and excitement about the things that are happening in my classroom through the use of technology.
As I begin to apply the things I am learning (blogs, web page design, webquests, etc.), I would be willing to work with our administration and tech people to lead some after school workshops for interested teachers to try out some of these new technologies.  I think there might be some interest from some of the teachers at my school, but there would be resistance from others.  Because some of the teachers would be resistant, that is why I think my role as a leader would need to be generating interest and leading optional professional development.
Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “A teacher leader?”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I think leading by example is the best way for change to occur. If you have engaging lessons that are exciting to the students, other teachers will notice. They might want to know what you’re doing. If you are approached, you could then talk about your lessons which could inspire them to integrate something new into their classrooms.


Leave a Reply

