Concerning Technology

I’m beginning to think that if it wasn’t for my EDU554 class, I wouldn’t ever take the time to post on this blog.  I’m not a natural writer, so it is hard for me to put thoughts down on screen.  But this blog is something I’ve really wanted to do for a long time because I’m sure it will make me a better teacher.  Anyway, this post is just the next for my technology in education class.  I’m thankful I have to do at least one per week for the class or I might never blog.

This week’s questions are:

1.)  What are your concerns about using various internet technologies in your teaching practice? and
2.)  How can you alleviate these concerns?

I don’t really have a lot of concerns about the technologies themselves (I guess reliability is about the only concern I have).  What I lack is a confidence in my abilities to create high quality lessons using the internet and other technology.   I have yet to really  come up with ways that challenge my students to think deeply and critically about math.  With any medium.  The one thing I wish I had more of was creativity.  I’m not concerned about the technologies (the tools) I’m concerned about my ability to use them.

The only way I can think of to overcome these inadequacies is to share.  Like I’m trying to do on this blog thingy here.  I need to get out of my shell, try some things, fail, write about it, analyze it, get feedback from others and try again.  The only way to get better at something is to do it.  I have to suck up my pride, get out of my comfort zone and try some new things.

Woo!  pep talks always get me going.  Teach like a champion today or something.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Concerning Technology”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    “Teach like a champion,” A great reference to Notre Dame. Back to what you said in your blog. The only way to know if a new activity (especially if it’s technology based) is going to work is to try. I believe that students respect teachers for trying new things. If the activity is a success or even fails you have something to talk to them about, so the outcome will be they still learned something from the experience.


Leave a Reply

